top of page
Search

Elden Ring is Ruining my Life!!!

Elden Ring has been released and it has completely destroyed my work schedule in ways that almost feel subconscious. With the school year ending in two months, this has meant that the final assignments for the year are starting to pile on. This has left my schedule pretty stacked and because I am in a co-op program, I have taken on two shows as well on top of that.



So theoretically, with how busy my schedule currently is right now I shouldn’t have time for video games right? WRONG! I think I have the worst self control because I can tell myself I’ll play for only an hour. Then the first hour pushes to two hours, then three, then four, then next thing you know I’m getting ready for bed. And don’t worry about my eyes, I have those blue light glasses to help with eye strain. I don’t know why games always make me feel the need to completely disregard the main duties in my life. But I’m also curious if I’m not the only one who has this type of functioning when it comes to things other than video games. Even though on the surface it can seem quite harmless or lighthearted in what I'm, but it is something that is quite concerning for me. If I’m unable to adjust or adapt my habits in a way that’s healthy for me. This will only inhibit the ability for me to advance my career or possibly seek out opportunities because I’m too busy disregarding my time with video games. I guess the thing I need to work on the most would be time management and then self control to just sit down and get my work done. But less about the existential and more about the game.

Wearing my blue light glasses

Elden Ring is an open world game and it does the format almost perfectly. They just throw you into this world with nothing and you slowly upgrade your character and make them stronger. The world is absolutely breathtaking with a huge emphasis of detail on making the world feel real and living. A lot of open world games struggle with filling their huge maps with content, which in turn can leave a very empty world to explore. But with Elden Ring, almost every turn even if I have been there before feels like I'm entering a whole new situation or area. The grind for the game has felt rewarding as it gives you something to work towards rather than just grinding just to play and with the Facebook live I did, hopefully that gave some people an idea on how to farm the game efficiently and maybe allows them to get back to their work cause grinding is a lot quicker now.


Elden Ring is Beautiful

Elden Ring has been huge and is a shoe in for game of the year, the only issue has become how will I make the time to play it? And I really do hope I can keep track of school while playing as well. What are some guilty pleasures that can get you away from work in an instant? Let me know in the comments and let’s see all our vices!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Finding a Routine

Getting into or having a routine is something I am very envious of when I see other people have that. It makes me feel like I don't have my life organized or that I am doing something wrong. Routines

The Final Stretch

The final weeks of my program are here and honestly I have no idea what to do. I have learned many things and yes it feels good to get those things done and be creative but it's currently hard to wrap

© 2023 by Cypher City. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page